NCAA: 2017 Men's College Cup field announced: Wake Forest, Indiana, North Carolina, Louisville given top seeds

The NCAA regular season and conference tournaments have come to a close and we are left with 48 teams competing for the national championship this fall. The 48-team field is made up of the champions of 24 conferences, who qualified automatically, in addition to 24 teams that were selected "at-large". The top 16 teams were seeded and receive first round byes. All first-round games will be played Thursday, Nov. 16. 

Thanks to their 18-1-1 record, Wake Forest earned the top seed in this year’s field. The Demon Deacons, last year’s national runner-up, won the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and tournament championships. Wake Forest is making its seventh straight tournament appearance and 21st overall as it looks to add a second national championship trophy to the one earned in 2007. They will take on the winner of Thursday’s clash between William & Mary and Columbia.

Rounding out the top four are Indiana, North Carolina and Louisville. These top 4 seeds can play their way to Houston without ever leaving home. The rest of the first round byes belong to Duke, Michigan State, Clemson, Stanford, Western Michigan, Virginia, Notre Dame, Michigan, Georgetown, Dartmouth, and Virginia Commonwealth.

The ACC tied its NCAA record with nine teams in the field as North Carolina, Louisville, Duke, Clemson, Virginia, Notre Dame, Virginia Tech and NC State earned bids alongside Wake Forest. Central Arkansas, Lipscomb, Omaha and Presbyterian will all be making their first appearance in the championship, while New Hampshire and Columbia are returning to the tournament for the first time in 23 and 24 years, respectively.The College Cup Final will be held on Dec. 8 at Talen Energy Stadium in Chester, Pennsylvania.

View the entire bracket here.

wake forest men's soccer

2017 NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament: Schedule


Thursday, Nov. 16

Columbia at William & Mary

Lipscomb at Butler

CSU Fullerton at Pacific

Mercer at Coastal Carolina

Seattle U at Washington

Illinois-Chicago at Wisconsin

Colgate at Massachusetts

San Francisco at California

Presbyterian at UNC Wilmington

Central Arkansas at SMU

St. Francis (Brooklyn) at Fordham

Omaha at Florida International

Air Force at Virginia Tech

Albany at Maryland

Fairfield at New Hampshire

NC State at Old Dominion


Sunday, Nov. 19

No. 1 Wake Forest vs. William & Mary-Columbia winner

No. 16 VCU vs. Butler-Lipscomb winner

No. 9 Stanford vs. Pacific-CSU Fullerton winner

No. 8 Clemson vs. Coastal Carolina-Mercer winner

No. 5 Akron vs. Washington-Seattle U winner

No. 12 Notre Dame vs. Wisconsin-UIC winner

No. 13 Michigan vs. Massachusetts-Colgate winner

No. 4 Louisville vs. California-San Francisco winner

No. 3 North Carolina vs. UNCW-Presbyterian winner

No. 14 Georgetown vs. SMU-Central Arkansas winner

No. 11 Virginia vs. Fordham-St. Francis (Brooklyn) winner

No. 6 Duke vs. FIU-Omaha winner

No. 7 Michigan State vs. Virginia Tech-Air Force winner

No. 10 Western Michigan vs. Maryland-Albany winner

No. 15 Dartmouth vs. New Hampshire-Fairfield winner

No. 2 Indiana vs. Old Dominion-NC State winner


Third Round: Saturday, Nov. 25 or Sunday, Nov. 26 — There will be eight Third Round games. Winners advance to the Quarterfinals.

Quarterfinals: Friday, Dec. 1 or Saturday, Dec. 3 — Four Quarterfinal matches will be played. The winners advance to the Men’s College Cup in Philadelphia.

Men’s College Cup: Friday, Dec. 8 and Sunday, Dec. 10 — The two semifinal games are played on Friday. The two winning teams will then play for the national championship on Sunday. The Men’s College Cup will be played at Talen Energy Stadium Philadelphia.